PDA

View Full Version : New Silver Long Hauler

Silver Who
30th March 2008, 19:54
I bought a monster box from apmex a couple of weeks ago....I am VERY new at this...It seems like many on this thread are able to answer some questions...some probably are silly questions, I just don't know anything about this stuff....If you can help,Thanks

1. they are 2008 Silver eagles...Is there a chance there are any MS70's in the batch? A freind told me it's possible...
2. If so how is the best way to find them?
3. is it ok to handle the coins? Will they get dinged up by handling them? if so does that devalue them at all?
4. What does "over Spot" mean....?"

I may have more questions that pop up...If I do I'll ask them later. Thanks

TTAZZMAN
30th March 2008, 22:17
Saveing you some time by being blunt.....

If your asking these questions you will not be able to tell the difference between a MS69 and a MS70

Even if you were very knowledgeable about coins you would be lucky to pick out a high enough percentage of MS70 coins to make the gradeing worth the cost of gradeing.
in other words if you were very knowledgeable and picked out a 100 coins you thought would be MS70 maybe 5-10 would come back as MS70 and the rest MS69 or MS68 .....at a cost of 30$ each sending in those 100 coins would cost you with shipping etc 350-400 ....the MS69s dont go enough over spot to matter......and you wont get enough MS70s to pay for the gradeing

Never handle a uncirculated coin...unless you use cotton gloves or hold by the edge, even cleaning a coin normally lowers its value (finger prints are one of the hardest things to remove from a coin)