PDA

View Full Version : 90% silver & the .715 constant

Silver Tiger
30th March 2008, 17:52
Hi, new member here!

I'm just getting started with silver bullion buying. Something immediately does not make much sense about 90% silver and that is the .715 constant.

To explain, if the current silver spot is 17.88/ounce. Then why is the constant for 90% silver not .9 x 17.88 per ounce?

To be more specific, why is the face value of the coins part of the formula at all? The amount shown on the coin itself would seem meaningless to me. It could say 1,000,000 dollars on it and I wouldn't care(assuming a dollar collapse). I would only care about the amount of silver the coin has.

So why not take 1 oz. of 90% junk silver and multiply it by .9 of the spot value to figure out the bullion content of the coins?

My only logical conclusion is that it would require constant counting or weighing of the coins. But the current formula requires counting the face value so I don't see much difference if you already know the weights of each coin before you begin.

Thanks for any help explaining this situation to my ignorant self.

:(

beach miner
30th March 2008, 18:25
Howdy: U.S. silver dollars--Morgans and Peace--weigh one U.S. ounce: 16oz to the pound. Silver is weighed in Troy ounces, 12oz. to our U.S. pound. 25% difference. Add to that--Silver dollars are 90% silver. To a smelter, a silver dollar is about 35% less than a Troy ounce bar or round. SILVER EAGLES ARE THE EXCEPTION. They are 1 Troy ounce .999 silver. Beautifully minted, and well worth the premium they command. However silver bars are good too if investing in bullion. See ya at the Top Beach Miner

Silver Tiger
30th March 2008, 18:40
The troy ounce part makes it somewhat clearer, but why is face value still used as part of the formula? I mean, surely a $1,000 face value bag of dimes would weight a different amount than a $1,000 face value bag of quarters or no?

Silvercaper
30th March 2008, 20:56
Silver Tiger: