PDA

View Full Version : Year set of popular world silver bullion coins

auptag
14th March 2009, 04:17
For those of you interested in things besides random chunks of metal... ;) tell me what you might add. Time to play SUPER UNCLE. It's birthday time and my nephew is getting a little older. I want to make this bday gift special so I decided to get him some silver gub'mint coins from 'round the world...all 2009

I am looking to simultaneously 1) Get my nephew into numismatics, 2) Get him into silver, and 3) Be the best uncle EVER.

So, here's what I have:
2009 ASE Uncirc
2009 Kook Uncirc
2009 Maple on the way??
2009 Phil? (Don't own any of these or know if I like them yet)

What would you add/change? What would be your ideal year set (assuming money is no object....which, of course...it IS!) I've never collected outside of US coinage and I am new to maples and kooks (but I already LOVE THEM both) Any other "major" world 1oz gov't minted silver bullion coins that I don't know about? Thanks.

rudy
14th March 2009, 05:37
I would add the Chinese Panda and Mexican Libertad. Not sure if the Libertad is still minted though and I don't see as many.

goldminer
14th March 2009, 06:23
A Britiania for sure...and ditto a (new) 1996-date style Libertad.
You don't say how old your nephew is but if possible I would consider getting coins that are dated his birth year.

digger
14th March 2009, 12:03
What about the New Zealand Kiwi?

mark2112gum
14th March 2009, 12:15
Don't forget the Canadian Olympic Maple Leaf, (there are 2 for 2009, one regular maple leaf, and the olympic maple leaf which features a firebird on the reverse it's a lovely coin).

auptag
14th March 2009, 12:21