PDA

View Full Version : show me your storage container

sunsetcliff
8th March 2009, 17:09
Ok- do you buy the burlap sacks for the junk, or do you make them?

how do you store junk? in sacks or plastic tubes, round or square, or paper wrappers?

Now that I have a batch- it seems real messy and disorganized. I bought some of the junk, 90%/40% bit by bit. I also picked out some like new coins from a bag and substituted an average coins, (more worn).

The 90% halfs might be worth the cost of a tube, silver eagles should be stored with care. Not in a sack. So a tube is worth the cost.

Do they make a tube for 1 ounce bars?

I have limited space, and in an effort to organize the pieces, I use up more space then need be.

Please share with me your secrets. I am rather new at this.

goldminer
8th March 2009, 17:38
You might want to consider small non-pvc zip-loc type plastic bags.
Dimes in $5.00 face lots; Quarters & Half-dollars in $10.00 face lots.
1. The bags are a lot cheaper than tubes, and will store them more safely then paper tubes.
2. The bags will not damage silver coins
3. The bags store well - lay 'em flat on top of each other
4. It looks like there are more coins in a bag then in a tube with an equal #.
5. Easy & quick for a potential buyer to see, count, and repackage.
6. Easy to mark/lable bags with type and face-value amount of coins.

strawman
9th March 2009, 14:39
http://www.sentrysafe.com/images/products/Thumbnails/1100.jpg

I had two of these filled with various irreplaceable items and they survived a house fire that consumed everything else. I now have four of them filled with similar items and wouldn't have anything else. They're cheap and have proven to my satisfaction. They may be easy to break into but someone would have to get 'em out of my house first.

auptag
9th March 2009, 14:59