PDA

View Full Version : Some newbie ??'s about silver market

Little Ant
21st January 2008, 09:33
OK, I'm new to silver investing but I would like to buy a $250 face value 90% bag with some money I have saved. I see that AMPEX has a quote right now at $2809.16 and $19.95 shipping. I really am trying to prepare for economic hard times ahead. I'm a single parent to 3 kids and have eliminated credit debt. Only a few payments left on car and have a very small mortgage payment with balance <$25,000. I've stocked the pantry etc. so now I see this as my next step.

Anyway, what are your thoughts on the next few days and weeks? Not sure if I should wait for a correction or if this is as low as it gets. I am trying to do as much research on the market and silver in particular though there is of course alot of conflicting info. Any advise on good avenues for learning is greatly appreciated.

goldminer
22nd January 2008, 15:00
IMO having some 90% is always smart business. You might want to check local dealers and the calendars for upcoming gun and coin shows in your area. Do a google search. Dealers at coin shows usually have bullion and not infrequently, bullion can be seen at gun shows.

If you can trade your FRNs in person cash and carry, there's no electronic or paper trail created that reports you have the coins, and many times dealers at these shows sell at or even below APMEX prices so shipping and insurance is saved.

You just have to shop around and get the best deal you can find...and 90% dimes, quarters, and half-dollars give the most silver per FRN traded.

strawman
5th February 2008, 20:42
Reply With Quote "...and 90% dimes, quarters, and half-dollars give the most silver per FRN traded."

Are you sure about that? Wouldn't some .999 bullion give more value?

Little Ant
6th February 2008, 07:14